Ohhh hey, more sorority talk

Hey all, this will probably be a quick post. So, as I’ve posted a bit, I joined a sorority, and then had to drop due to money and being poor, however, we had already picked bigs (she’s basically a mentor we mutually pick who becomes our bestie) had already made my crafts and still wanted to do a cute reveal for me.

So, me, my big, and my grandbig (my big’s big) went to lunch and I was introduced to the “AMORE Fam” (there are different families in each sorority) and they have been so kind and loving even though I’m technically not in the sorority right now. That was yesterday (Wednesday) that we got together and had my mini reveal.

Anyways, today was actual Big-Little reveal and my family took a picture together so I took the time to Photoshop my cute self into and post it on instagram. So the whole family took the picture and posted it on Facebook and instagram and commented how they were so sad I couldn’t so the sorority this semester but that they were looking forward to me being back next semester.

Honestly, it makes me so sad that people hate on sororities because these girls are so amazing and i love them all so much

Love my family
Love my family

Talk to you all soon

Alicia

Goals upon goals

Hey all.

Recently I had to do a project for my Honors class where we had to create a 15 minute presentation discussing our goals and how we plan to achieve them. However, I don’t believe life is all about our long-term (5+ years) goals. I believe having short terms are necessary as well. So what better way to remember these short-term goals than by blogging about them?

Day goals:

  1. Make my bed- making my bed gives me a false sense of having my life together- and I love it
  2. Do homework- I hate doing it but it has to be done
  3. Return the phone I got- Verizon sent me two iPhones and I have to trek to the post office and return it
  4. Reach 10,000 steps- My daily fitbit step goal
  5. Eat 100% vegan- pretty self explanatory
  6. Drink 2 liters of water- DO THIS EVERYDAY-IT’S GOOD FOR YOU

Week goals:

  1. Ace my Bio Exam
  2. Meet my Sorority Big (I’m not in it anymore but she still wants me to know who she is)
  3. Go to the Homecoming Football Game
  4. Finish all of my homework- And don’t procrastinate on it
  5. Make a packing list for going to Phoenix
  6. Get my lotus tattoo and nose piercing (Friday)

Month Goals:

  1. Begin studying for finals- I can’t procrastinate
  2. Have a blast in Phoenix- visiting my aunt and best friends for Thanksgiving
  3. Make a packing list for going home- I love lists and hate forgetting things
  4. Write down everything I need to buy at home or bring from home so i don’t forget
  5. Explore coffee shops- if you check out my instagram that’s all I do

Semester Goals:

  1. Don’t fail any classes
  2. Make more friends
  3. Join clubs
  4. get a 3.5 GPA
  5. Be 100% vegan

Winter Break Goals:

  1. Work as a nanny
  2. See everyone I’ve missed while at school
  3. Relax
  4. Create 2nd semester schedule
  5. Switch closets with my sister- we switched rooms once I left but I need to get everything out of my closet

Year long goals:

  1. Decide on a major- double major in Spanish and _______
  2. Get a job
  3. Join clubs
  4. Become an AM
  5. Become an Ambassador

That’s all I have for now, but the list will grow. I think I will post weekly goals on my Monday posts. But probably not daily goals because I don’t always post the posts the same day I wrote them.

Talk to you all soon

Alicia

louis-tomlinson-one-direction-1d-quotes-6

See you again

Hey everyone…

A few posts ago i talked about my sorority that I’m in at my university. Well, much to my dismay, I had to drop from it the other day. It’s not because I hated it, oh gosh quite the opposite I loved the girls and everyone I’d met through it. However,  after becoming a broke college kid, I can’t pay for it this semester. I will be working all winter break back home and am hoping to get a job here in San Diego next semester in order to pay for it. Until then, I have to drop from the sorority.

It’s been so weird seeing everyone and having them ask where I’ve been and being removed from our pledge class’ group message. While I’m very sad to be going I can’t ask my parents or grandparents to pay for it after I’ve made them pay for all the damages that the scammer did. I am very sad to go, but it’s not goodbye. I have made great friendships with so many of the girls that we will continue to hang out and that I will be back if not in the spring, then definitely next fall. i will miss all of my sisters and hanging out with them on the daily, but I will continue to support them all in their philanthropy and such.

Also, big little week is this week and since I was given a big, she is still going to be ‘revealed’ to me but just in person not a big reveal like the other girls in the sorority do.

Talk to you all soon.

Alicia

images

Why Random was the Right Choice for me

While most people spend months trying to sing the perfect roommate or trying to convince their high school bestie that living together won’t break up their friendship forever, I was still trying to convince my parents to let me go to school here in San Diego. Picking a roommate wasn’t really a top priority on my list.

All I did on the subject of a roommate was fill out a little survey of what time I go to bed, the loudness and brightness of the room when sleeping, and how clean I keep the room. Honestly, I was terrified since everyone I knew had hand-picked their roommate’s through facebook posts and messaging or through mutual friends.

Then I began to hear horror stories of bad random roommates. My aunt’s college roommate stole a lot from her, so much that she kept everything but bedding and toiletries in her car on campus.

The second we were able to see who our roommates were, I stalked her on instagram. It’s ok… she did the same to me. I saw that she was a vegan which is good I’m thinking because of my lactose allergy. She seemed like a nice girl.

Little did i know that a silly survey about bedtime and nightly regimen would turn into me finding my freshman year best friend. We both are allergic to gluten, love cartoon network, binge watching netflix, and silently judging people. She tolerates my obnoxious singing  and my “rockland” phrases, and I tolerate her random noise making and terrible California terms. We’ve made it two months without killing each other and I’m sure we can survive more. If she somehow hasn’t killed me yet, I think I’m in the clear.

I’m so happy I got my roommate as my roommate because I doubt I could make fun, yell at, sing to, annoy, and piss off as much as her and somehow not have a knife in my head (she has threatened but it has yet to happen). So many people say random roommates are shitty, but personally I think I’m happier than all of my friends who picked their roommates. We didn’t have to impress each other over facebook or give each other false expectations of the super cool life we live and how great we are in order to woo each other. We literally just showed up on the first day of school and the rest is history

Did any of you guys go random? Did you have the same experience as me… or different?

Talk to you all soon

Alicia

3a1fba1f40bffc0bc0538f613477e467

Life Away from Home

Hey everyone.

So, a big question that I’m asked often if how do I do it? How do I spend months away from home. So far away from home my parents have to take a plane to get to me if they want to get to me that day or week. Do I get home sick often and how do I cope with being completely on my own? How do I miss my sister’s basketball game and dances, etc.?

To be honest, I don’t know. I ask myself how I don’t miss anyone or anything on the daily. I think it’s because I still keep contact with all my friends and family. And also because I wasn’t like inseparable with anyone in high school. My dad and I are pretty close and so are my sister and I but when I said goodbye to my sister I was half asleep and didn’t really realize I was saying goodbye for 4 months and my dad cried when I said goodbye so I cried then too. My mom and I really aren’t close and rarely talk and when we do, we yell. So, us being separated I feel has actually benefited us for the most part.

I have seen my family. My parents, sister, and grandma came to San Diego for parents weekend and then I’ll see them again at Christmas. I feel like since I know that I’ll see them I don’t have to dwell on the past of missing them when I can look forward to the next time I get to see them all.

Do any of you college peeps miss your families? Or are you cold and heartless like I am?

Talk to you all soon

Alicia

b08

Living the Srat Life

A common misconception of sororities is that all the girls in the sorority paid to make their friends. Well, it you’re a college student, you paid for college, and you made friends in college. Doesn’t that make any friend you’ve made in school a friend you paid for? Any club or organization in school and on campus has dues, so you literally are paying to make friends. Yet, people always say to get involved on campus because it’s a great way to make friends. I got involved on campus through my sorority and made many friends. Friendships I never would have made had I not rushed and joined the Greek system. I love all of my new friends and wouldn’t trade my rush experience for the world.

Another misconception of all sororities is that all they do is party and sleep with guys. Sororities were founded on philanthropy and community service and that’s exactly what we do. My sorority, Delta Zeta, has a philanthropy where we work with Starkey hearing and try to help people hear. We raise money through gofundme and by having nacho nights at the chapter house a few times a year. We also go on sisterhood hikes to raise awareness too. While there are parties that every frat house hosts, not everyone in the chapter participates and parties aren’t only excluded to girls in sororities. Nearly everyone in college goes out and parties at least once and you don’t have to be in a sorority to be in one.

A lot of my younger friends have asked me about the pros and cons of joining Greek Life and I guess since I’ve told literally everyone I’ll tell you guys too in case any readers are wondering whether or not Greek Life is the life for them

Pros.

  1. You make so many lifelong friendships
  2. There is always someone to get food or go on an adventure with
  3. Leadership opportunities (resume booster)
  4. Connections with alumuna and your sisters/brothers for jobs after college
  5. Sisterhood retreats- Day trips to Disney, random pumpkin patch trips and more
  6. Philanthropic Events- nothing is better than giving back to others, but what makes it even better is doing it with your brothers and sisters.

Cons

  1. Costs- It’s very expensive and I’m going to have to get a job in order to pay for it
  2. The stigma- people who aren’t in Greek Life seem to hate and give it a bad rep
  3. It takes up a lot of time(this hasn’t been an issue for me yet but it’s what everyone says so I’ll put it up here)
  4. Rules- You have to dress a certain way for certain days and buy this shirt for this day.
  5. Hazing- My sorority doesn’t haze and a lot of sororities don’t have either but frats are a different story. My roommate’s brother had to get his nipples pierced prior to being initiated.

Personally, I never thought the Greek scene was for me, until i rushed and met some amazing people who convinces me that being the stereotypical sorority girl wasn’t necessary to join a sorority, And now, I have some great friendships and memories that will last me forever.

What are your opinions on Greek Life? Are you in a frat or srat? Which one?

Talk to you all soon

Alicia

tumblr_inline_nhs3dd6t0Y1r702nz

Let the Holiday Season Begin

Happy November. Also known as “Start of the Holiday Season.” People begin prepping for Thanksgiving and then comes Black Friday shopping. Then for students come finals. After that Christmas, Kwanzaa, Hanukkah, and suddenly it’s the New Year and it’s time to start another year all over again. The Holiday Season is such a hustle and bustle of last minute shopping, picture taking, and just a whole lot of celebrating, which is why it’s definitely my favorite time of the year. The joy that promulgates throughout the city and the snow that falls down (in Chicago not here) makes me feel so festive and content with myself and everyone around me.

Living in Sunny San Diego hasn’t really gotten me in the Christmas Spirit because of how warm and well, sunny it is. It’s quite weird to think that 2000 miles away it home, where it’s snowing and cold, and here it’s still sunny and 75. While I’m absolutely in love with this weather here, I have begun to miss the snow and coldness of Chicago. Do I miss shoveling snow and frozen hair? Or the dirty snow that shows after hundreds of cars drive over it or the hidden ice beneath the snow that i seem to be attracted to? Of course not, but snow I believe does bring me closer to feeling festive. But, on December 18th I will be completely immersed in the Holiday spirit when I return home to the cold, dreary, Holiday filled Chicago life.

Nevertheless, every mall and superstore is crawling with Christmas Lights and Santa Claus blowups so I do feel a bit holiday-like.I can’t wait to decorate my dorm walls in lights and everything else Christmas. Especially since my wall of photos fell down in my dorm today. It used to be homey and now there’s just a blank wall. Nonetheless, I will continue singing and dancing to Christmas carols much to my roommate’s and the rest of my floor’s shagrin.

I’ll continue to discuss my love for the Holidays and discuss my Holiday experience.

Talk to you all soon
Alicia 🙂

When-Woody-says-goodbye-you-SOBBED

Halloween

Unlike most college students, I didn’t go out and party during Halloween. Halloween has never really been a favorite Holiday of mine mainly because I haven’t dressed up since like 6th grade because I’ve either been sick or had practice on the day. So, Halloween has ceased to become a day of importance. I guess people take Halloween very seriously in college because it’s literally a day to be a ‘skanky ho’ as my roommate would say without being judged. I always thought was supposed to be about originality too, but after seeing hundreds of cats, bunnies, angels, and devils, I have become aware that isn’t the case.

Personally I would never dress up in a bra, underwear, and some ears and call that a costume, but if you don’t dress up as that in college, you’re sort of looked down as prudent. I’m not a prude but I don’t want to dress up in nothing just to get the attention of people. That’s only my opinion and I know there are others, but it’s my blog, so I’ll say what I want.

I also didn’t go out because I’m pretty sure I’m getting sick and going out until like 3am and drinking from cups other sick college kids have drunk from is probably a bad idea. My roommate went out while I was in bed doing a mixture of blogging, sleeping, watching Netflix, and blowing my brains into a tissue. Wow love Halloween.

I mean I haven’t been completely unfestive. A few girls and i went to a pumpkin patch a week or two ago and picked some pumpkins (pic on my insta found on the bar to the right) and my roommate and I have also decorated our white board on our door with a ghost, and we have also decorated the room with a few fake spiders and other pumpkins. I enjoy the season of fall, not to seem like a basic white girl, but it’s a nice season. Just not a big fan of Halloween.

That’s just an opinion of mine. What do you all think of Halloween? If you all like it, what did you dress up as?

Talk to you all soon

Alicia :*

giphy