All grown up

We’re halfway through 2021 already and per usual, I’ve put my hobbies on the backburner. Yesterday in therapy, my therapist and I talked about how my dream would have been to have majored in English or journalism to become a writer or design/media to create content and I chose education to appease my family. Just because I did that 4 years ago, doesn’t mean I have to ignore all of my passions to this day! So, here I am, sitting on the couch in my brand-new apartment [more on this in a minute], typing words on my laptop for the first time in over six months.

There’s nothing more Alicia-esque than making an update post. So, here’s my halfway through 2021 update post.

2021 started really well for me. I didn’t make it to see the start of 2021 because a good night’s rest was more important than that. I started back at the school I worked at for my maternity leave cover. We had an in-service day followed by my last six weeks there. January flew by between teaching and applying to what felt like hundreds of jobs all over the world.

I finished working at the school in February with my last day being parent teacher conferences. My last week was full of tears, well wishes, and sweet cards and gifts from my students and colleagues. I’m so sad to not be returning to the school because it was such an amazing experience. Right after that job ended, I started tutoring one of my past students and other parents had offered to have me tutor them as well. I then spent a week with my grandparents which was a nice time spent with them. And amidst all of this, I had plenty of interviews at schools all over.

In March, I got my first COVID vaccine and did a ton of work. I did a lot of tutoring, started a TEFL [Teaching English as a Foreign Language] and IB [International Baccalaureate] courses to improve my resume and help me get hired [I’m also very passionate about those of these things], I painted my room, and got my first ever job offers and accepted my first ever full time big girl job at a private school in Chicago. I still want to work and live abroad but I’ll have to wait to have a bit more experience in my field for that to happen.

I got fully vaccinated in April and did a lot of dog sitting for the family I tutor. I also visited my sister in college and decided to plan a trip with her over the summer. We decided on the Pacific Northwest so I planned us a trip to Portland and Seattle during the month of May.

May was pretty simple. I traveled to Portland and Seattle with my sister and had so much fun. We drank tons of coffee, hiked a bunch, saw flowers and tons of wild life, and went to so many beautiful places. When I came home from my trip, I saw an apartment I absolutely loved with everything I needed: a dishwasher, parking, and pet friendly.

In June, I turned 24. I spent the weekend in Chicago with my sister, had cheesecake, got boba, and just hung out. It was a great and simple and I had a great day. I buckled down and started packing all my things to move into my new home. I started living on Facebook marketplace looking for furniture and décor for my home. My dog also got bit by another dog. She’s totally fine now but it was the longest day of my life. I ended June with a family trip to Wisconsin. Each summer, my dad’s side of the family rents a cabin [we now use my cousin’s home since she lives on a lake] and we play cards, golf, fish, hang out with dogs and babies, and spend time on the lake. I read a lot which was so nice to do.

Now we’re in July. All I’ve done is move into my apartment. It’s been a long process but I’m so glad to have an apartment I call home. J

Talk sooner rather than later